honestly my favourite bit in KS discourse will always be antis completely seriously arguing that portraying rape, murder and abuse im a way that shows it is fuckin bad is “glorifying”
Worse is when any abuse that is shown with snippets of happy moments or bonding between a victim and abuser is labeled ‘romanticizing’.
Many depictions of abuse in mainstream media are black-and-white; they make the abusevery obviousto the audience and victim. Take Beverly from the recent IT movie. This is not to say that there is anything I find fundamentally wrong with this abuse portrayal given that the movie was not focusing on Beverly’s abuse, the only thing the movie was trying to achieve was making it noticeable which succeeded, but that’s rarely how real abuse is. Abuse is hidden under ‘love’ and sweet nothings that keep you just on the hook. The abuser will give you enough happy moments to make you think that no, you’re not being abused! Remember how sweetly they comfort you when you wake up from nightmares. Sure, they slap you around a bit, but real abuse victims are beaten 24/7! Real abusers don’t show care towards their victims one bit! You’re not an abuse victim.
This is a scary thing to be teaching people.
Absolutely, good point. One of the reasons I love KS so much is because of how accurately it portrays abuse. Most other media honestly leaves me feeling like I’m lying, because my abuser could be so nice to me and I cared so much about him. I think a lot of people forget that it’s necessary for an abuser to be nice to maintain control of their victim.
^ THIS ^
Antis have a hard time understanding that there’s a difference between portraying an abusive relationship in a realistic way (which must include nice and sweet moments between victim and abuser, because that’s how the abuser keeps the victim around, no human being would be so stupid to not realize the abuse if they were beaten up constantly! That’s what makes it hard for a victim abuse to realize they’re actually being abused) and ‘romanticizing’ it.
Killing Stalking doesn’t even try in the least to sugar coat Bum’s situation, so how can it be called ‘romanticization’ of abuse?
Hiding what I read would be not acknowledging my reading choices and preferences and anyway, no matter what you read, there will always be someone to criticize your choices, so I don’t see why I should even bother with pretending.
To give you examples besides KS:
there are people saying that Shingeki no kyojin is an apology to nazism, so “reading it makes you a nazi sympathizer”
so-called readers of Tokyo Ghoul have been throwing shit at Ishida and other fans for “promoting abusive relationships” or being transphobic for several years
not to mention Kuroshitsuji being about “gay pedophilia” for some people
less aggressive but “Gintama has no plot, it’s just a waste of time” is something I’ve read more than once too.
So in the end, the controversy around KS is nothing special and “if you read KS then that means you’re homophobic and see all homosexual relationships as abusive” is part of the top bullshit of 2017 in the realm of fiction for me. Similarly, not liking a series that’s rather popular doesn’t automatically make you an anti of the themes it’s addressing, just saying.
Anyway, it’s just about being true to yourself because you’ll always get shade at some point in your life for liking or disliking something that very annoying other people will want to argue about, simply because they disagree.
So yes I read KS, I even have a tag for it on my blog, I like to read posts by several KS bloggers after a new chapter comes out and I currently miss my weekly updates a lot. ;_;
I hope it answers your question, have a nice day Anon!
Sangwoo’s mother’s body was never found, given that he loved her so much, how attached he was to her, I can see him keeping the body. People have pointed out Sangwoo’s similarity to Norman Bates from the horror film Psycho, a serial killer obsessed with his mother. In Psycho, Bates hides his mother mummified corpse in the fruit cellar. And we know Sangwoo is handy with construction projects, like when he built the hook for Bum.
He looks at the wall in that panel only after he hallucinates his mother as Bum like he’s making sure whatever’s there hasn’t moved. It would explain why he’s afraid of being in that room, he’s afraid of his mother and he’s afraid of being confronted with what he did to her.
[all art belongs to Koogi]
Momwoo was in the living room the whole time. That’s why Bum isn’t allowed in there.